marcy playground + the raconteurs

Marcy

I said earlier this summer that I would try to overcome my art journal aversion.  I didn't really do a journal as much as an ATC…and it's a little big at 4×6…but that's not the point. The point is I tried to add words to a collage.  
I've done a ton of driving the kids around this summer and we seem to hear Blackbird (Marcy Playground) a lot…enough that we can all sing along to it.  And who doesn't love a blackbird?  
Recant
The other came from a song that I've had on my iPod for a while…Old Enough (The Raconteurs).
To make these, I layered a scrapbook paper on one of my 4×6 postcards (and sanded the edges).  I decided to use images from my stack of Anthropologie catalogs because they seemed to fit with the words.  Other than that, I stamped the bird, added a tiny bit of dimension with the ticket and "24" paper, and wrote the words.  
I have to admit that I'm still not loving it (seems a little too teen angst to me) but I did like placing the text…trying to see it as just another element in the collage.  And that's something.  

2 thoughts on “marcy playground + the raconteurs

  1. I like them. There’s a real market for teen angst just now… thinking of some of the currently popular books such as Twilight and others.
    I recently did a collage using pictures form a catolog it was my first and I actually liked them (I never like my ‘art’) so that was a first for me. I’ll have to share them soon.

    Like

  2. I like your postcard/journal entries….especially for your first attempt. Funny, I’ve had the same aversion because sometimes I think…what do I say? I have nothing to say! But I’ve tried to push that thought out and just enjoy the process…

    Like

Leave a comment