what I know about glue

Dscf0342_edited1I have been asked a few times about the glue I use on my projects and I am happy to share everything I know about glue…

  • Mod Podge is the sealer that I use on anything that will be handled (like clipboards, altered train cases, etc.).  I’m a bit of neat freak with glue and I apply this sealer with a nice wide watercolor brush.  The brush doesn’t put "too much" on the piece.  I sand lightly between coats and usually add about 3 coats.  I also use the matte finish because I’m not a shiny girl.  The biggest piece of advice that I can give about Mod Podge is to apply it and WALK AWAY from your project when it starts to bubble or wrinkle…don’t even peek in on it.   Learn from my mistakes and know that the stuff always dries flat.
  • UHU is the glue stick I use for anything that doesn’t need to be sealed (cards and paper collages that will be framed).  I use an old magazine or catalog as my scrap paper to catch extra glue…just turn the page to get a clean surface.  I use a bone folder to smooth the top of the piece to make sure everything gets glued to the edges.
  • WackyTac (labeled as k&company craft bond) is the super strong glue I use to apply buttons and other heavier things to my projects.  It just takes a drop and it dries strong and clear.
  • Finally, I use a Quickie Glue pen to add touches of glitter to some projects.  I’m not a big glitter girl and this pen allows you to put a small, precise amount of glue.  I apply the glue and sprinkle the top with fine glitter, let it dry, and then brush off the glitter with a small round paint brush.

I hope this is helpful…if you have any questions, just ask! 

 

19 thoughts on “what I know about glue

  1. thank you so much for this post! it is so helpful…especially the quickie glue pen. putting glitter on things can be quite a mess and it usually doesn’t turn out well.

    Like

  2. Thank you! I was so excited when I saw 2 of the exact items that I usually reach for (the Mod Podge and the Uhu), and the details are helpful.
    Thanks again for sharing.

    Like

  3. You are so sweet to share your glue secrets. I found it very helpful. I’m adding every one of those to my shopping list! Thanks Julie!

    Like

  4. Genius!! Thanks so much for the breakdown, and the advice with Mod Podge, I always thought I was doing something wrong, and the sanding idea- brilliant! Hope you’re having a GREAT day!!

    Like

  5. Genius!! Thanks so much for the breakdown, and the advice with Mod Podge, I always thought I was doing something wrong, and the sanding idea- brilliant! Hope you’re having a GREAT day!!

    Like

  6. Great tips! I love all those nitty gritty details and it’s always good to have someone’s recommendation in your head when you look at the overwhelming choices in the glue aisle.

    Like

  7. I’ve used Mod Podge for over 25 yrs & love that stuff! I’ve decoupaged & sealed many things & it is tough. I love your little red papered suitcase & I’m wondering too how you got the rounded corners so nice…I usually cut & paste small pieces rather than large sheets.
    The other glues I haven’t heard of…I have so many types on my shelf.

    Like

Leave a comment