craig’s list

Dscf0169_edited1I made my first Craig’s List purchase this week.  A dining room set…for my living room.  My idea was that a dining room buffet would make a cool place for a TV.   I found a nice buffet….and matching china cabinet, and table, and chairs…all for less than I’d pay for an average end table.  My challenge now is to make the china cabinet fit into the living room and not be too "old lady" or too "knick-knacky"…we’ll see.   

For the table that came with it, I remembered this idea from my favorite Martha Stewart book.

Dscf0172_edited1The table is the extending kind, so it can easily be made into two pieces.  I have talked my husband into cutting each piece and putting them on each side of our fireplace as two matching console tables.  My husband is pretty handy but a bit of a goofball carpenter.  Still, I really don’t think he can mess this one up…will share pictures soon (I hope!).   

12 thoughts on “craig’s list

  1. Ohhh!.. nice… and what fun. I took the hutch that my MIL gave us ( heavy oak, not my style) and gave it a makeover and could not be happier with it. I can’t wait to see what you do with yours!
    Maddie

    Like

  2. I love your Craig’s List furniture finds. I’m going to have to pay closer attention to that list resource. The buffet idea for a TV is a good one.

    Like

  3. OOH OOH! Once upon a time, we had an entryway with a wall. On the opposite side of the wall was the living area. We cut our table in half, and put half in the entryway and half in the living area, so it looked like an entire table separated by a wall! So fun! Love your idea!

    Like

  4. I love the matching console ideas! Your blog is so inspiring to me. I am new to blogging, but I have been “stalking” yours for a while. I can’t remember exactly how I came to find it, but I adore it!

    Like

Leave a comment