thrifted lilly

Lilly_2

Earlier this spring we moved our boys into separate bedrooms…it involved lots of painting and I let the boys basically pick the color of their room.    Of course, our daughter wanted her room painted too…and it really was due for an update. 

I've never been wild about pink for girls…even when she was a baby, I preferred to dress her in pretty prints and such.   Ellen went straight to the "I want my room pink" request…ughh.   I had her talked out of it but then looked through my Martha Stewart Signature fan deck again and found a pink I thought we could all live with.   It's called "foamflower" and is a very pale peachy-pink…almost a neutral color.   It really is pretty and "goes" with her yellow furniture.

And then…just because I was going with the whole "pink" thing, I found the Lilly Pulitzer sundress at the thrift store and brought it home for my girly-girl.

6 thoughts on “thrifted lilly

  1. I think it looks beautiful! I’m giving in to the pink request too. I’ve had the paint for a month but I’m just getting started this weekend. I hope it turns out as well as your daughter’s room!

    Like

  2. The room looks cute – I am debating on painting my room either pink or aqua for a change – the walls have been yellow for years. so funny, I was at a thrift store this morning & picked up a girl’s Lili Pulitzer sun dress & almost bought it. If I didn’t have to dry clean it, I would’ve gotten it. Instead, I saw an older handmade smocked & dotted swiss little dress & bought that.

    Like

  3. So cute! My daughter went through the pink phase much to my dismay. Now, she’s on to light blue so they grow out of it.
    I found a Lily Pulitzer once at a resale store. It was one of my daughter’s very favorite dresses. They are so cute and well made, too!

    Like

  4. I love that wall color! The nice thing is that, being an ‘almost neutral,’ it can grow with your daughter. She can change the colors around it to many other possibilities…without the hassle of having to paint the walls again. The whole room is gorgeous!

    Like

  5. Great color! I think it’s best to go with what they want, so why not be pretty in pink?(By the way, I hope you don’t mind that I tagged you today!)

    Like

  6. I love pink. I wanted to paint my bedroom pink but my husband wouldn’t go for it. So I painted my launderette pink, MS “confection”. It was a tough call between the foamflower and confection but in the end the name won me over. It goes so well with the greens, greys, aquas, reds, and peaches of the rest of my house. It really is a versatile color!

    Like

Leave a comment